Turnitin is the online submission system used at the University for most of your assignments.
Please see the below FAQ's to assist with uploading your work and common queries.
IT Service Centre are unable to upload any work on your behalf or make changes to the submission points.
Q: How do I submit my work?
Please go the Blackboard tile in UDO or the following direct link
From the institute home page, go to the module titled Blackboard for Students. This will contain information on all the tools and resources your tutor(s) may include in your modules.
Please see the following guides:
The settings on your submission point may be different from the above guidance, as these as decided by the tutors when these are created.
Q: What file types and size can I upload?
Please see the following link: Turnitin File Specifications
Q: Why can't I locate or see the submission point?
Submission points are set up on module by the tutors and should appear in the Assessments area.
If you are not able to view these, please contact your tutor(s) for the following checks:
- Submissions points have been set up
- Are not set to hidden from students or have a future release date
- Where they are in the module (if not in the assessments folder)
- Module code you can see is the same as what the tutor can see
Q: How can I check the submission point settings?
The settings can be checked from the upload page of the submission point. Click the arrow icon to left of the name of the submission point, located on the top left of the page.
This will expand the settings and show the following information:
The settings on your submission point may differ depending on what has been chosen when the submission point was set up. EG: Resubmissions or late submissions may not be allowed.
The 24 hour clock format is used on the due and feedback release dates.
Q: What can I do if the Due date is incorrect?
The due date set on the submission point will override anything printed in a module handbook, assignment brief or web page.
Please contact your tutor to discuss this and have the incorrect settings amended.
Q: How can I delete/remove an incorrect submission?
Students are unable to delete files from Turnitin.
Please contact your tutor to request the incorrect file be deleted on your behalf.
Q: Why has my file settings changed after submission?
The formatting, layout, page number may change when viewing your submission through the online Turnitin Viewer window.
This is due to this being a web page which does not hold the various formatting options available in all the applications you can use to submit your work.
Your tutor will see the same when they are marking the work if using the online viewer window.
Additionally, they can download your work in the same software used to create your assignment. This will show the correct format and lay-out.
Q: Why can't I resubmit my work?
Your work can only be resubmitted if the due date and time has not passed, and the submission point is set to allow resubmissions.
Once the due date has been reached, only first time submissions can be made if late submissions have been allowed. These will be marked as late and may be given a capped score.
Q: Why can't I see my Originality score?
An originality score will show on your work, if this has been allowed in the settings by your tutor.
If the originality score shows a lock icon or wording: ‘This has been disabled by the tutor’. The settings have been chosen to not allow students to view their score. Please speak to them in the first instance, there may be a genuine reason why this has been chosen in the settings.
This will appear almost immediately on your first 3 submissions to the same submission point. Any further re-submissions twill take 24 hours for an originality score to be displayed.
This does not reset daily, and IT or your tutors are unable to amend this to make a score appear.
In some cases, an originality score may not show if there is something in your work that system is unable to compare in the system,
Q: Can I get a previous copy of an assignment I have resubmitted over?
No. Once a resubmission has been made to a submission point, the previous file will be overwritten and cannot be recovered.
Q: Why can't I view/access my feedback?
Your feedback will be available to you once the Grades Release date is reached and your work has been marked/graded by your tutor
To view your feedback or grade – please go back to the assessment area of your module followed by the link used to submit your work
Feedback WILL NOT show in the Provisional Marks and Feedback area on the Blackboard home page or sub folder in the module unless it has been set by your tutors to be visible in these areas.
Feedback will not be available for any submissions which have been submitted by your tutor on your behalf. They will need to sent this to you by emails or other methods.